Auburn, NH Blog

The Caregivers of Visiting Angels of Auburn Are Prepared To Take Care Of Your Loved One With Dementia

Detecting your loved one’s memory loss, dementia, or Alzheimer’s early can give you enough time to realize what treatment is best for your family. Below, we’re going to discuss the seven stages of dementia and what to look for and how the caregivers at Visiting Angels of Auburn are prepared to help.


            Stage 1: Normal/No Impairment

            During this stage, your loved one isn’t showing signs of memory loss or dementia. Their behavior and mood haven’t changed either.


            Stage 2: Very Mild/Normal Aged Forgetfulness

            A person going through stage 2 may not remember a name or forget where they left the television remote. They may realize they are going through a cognitive change during this time.


            Stage 3: Mild Cognitive Impairment

            In this stage, your loved one may be experiencing higher levels of forgetfulness and memory loss. There may be higher levels of anxiety, overall confusion, and a loss of concentration. These changes may be able to be seen by friends and family. If you believe that your loved one is going through stage 3, be sure to get them tested as soon as possible.


            Stage 4: Moderate Dementia

            As memory loss gets worse, communicating clearly may become a challenge as well. Your loved one may withdraw from social situations as a result of the illness. Activities such as shopping, cleaning, or cooking may become difficult without assistance.


            Stage 5: Moderately Severe Dementia

            In stage 5, basic information such as phone numbers, their home address, and the schools that they’ve attended may be forgotten. Individuals in stage 5 would probably need assistance (for example, a caregiver) in order to live an independent life.


            Stage 6: Severe Dementia

            In order to go about their daily life, a person in stage 6 will need full-time care. If you choose a caregiver from Visiting Angels of Auburn, they would have to help them with dressing, bathing, and toileting will become difficult. This person may get lost or wander as well. During this stage, the person may go through emotional and behavioral changes as well, potentially becoming paranoid and hostile.


            Stage 7: Very Severe Dementia

            In this last stage, moving, eating, and talking are going to be almost impossible. These patients will need full-time care, whether it’s assisted living or a caregiver. Symptoms in this stage include a loss of the ability to speak and communicate, a loss of awareness for people and surroundings, and the loss of motor control.


If you recognize that your loved one is going through one of the above stages, please get them to their primary physician as soon as possible. Whether it’s a caregiver, assisted living, or friends and family, you can choose the type of care that’ll be right for your loved one. Please contact the caregivers of Visiting Angels of Auburn to learn more about caring for someone with Alzheimer’s.

Each Visiting Angels agency is a franchise that is independently owned and operated. The Franchisor, Living Assistance Services Inc., does not control or manage the day to day business operations of any Visiting Angels franchised agency.